Tuesdays with Dorie – La Palette’s Strawberry Tart

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, La Palette’s Strawberry Tart, was chosen by Marie of A Year In Oak Cottage.

This tart is very different from most tarts I’ve made in the past. This one was so easy. The only part that you actually have to make is the crust which came together quickly and easily. The other ingredients are strawberry jam and fresh strawberries. How easy is that?

I chose to do fresh cherries because I had a ton leftover from my cherry pie. I did sprinkle a little sugar on the cherries because I wanted them to be juicy. I also used strawberry jam because I was too lazy to go to the store for cherry preserves.

The husband really enjoyed the tart. Me? I’m not a big fan of fresh fruit but I loved, loved, loved the pastry crust with jam on top.

(As a group, us TWDer’s have decided to stop posting Dorie’s recipes since we think everyone should own a copy of her book. Luckily for you though, Dorie has already blogged about this one over on Serious Eats. And now you must go check out the other Tuesdays with Dorie blogs.)

Tags: ,

22 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – La Palette’s Strawberry Tart”

  1. CB Says:

    I totally agree! I loved the crust with the jam. I am thinking Tart cookies+jam will be on my bake-list soon! haha. The cherries look delish! Great job!
    Clara @ I♥food4thought

  2. rainbowbrown Says:

    I tried one of my mini tart crusts with cherries too. It was good. Glad you liked it!

  3. Mary Ann Says:

    cherries sound great! Love the mini tart-so cute and it looks delicious

  4. steph (whisk/spoon) Says:

    i love cherries–this looks delish!

  5. Kelly D Says:

    Those cherries look great!

  6. Caitlin Says:

    Cherries sound wonderful, especially with strawberry jam.

  7. Erin Says:

    Yummy with cherries! Wow-great idea.

  8. Gretchen Noelle Says:

    The crust was one of the best parts! Love the idea of cherries in this!

  9. Megan Says:

    My husband likes the crust only anyways so from now on that’s what I’ll serve!! He literally scrapes out the filling and says the crust is the best part – are you two related?

  10. Susan Says:

    this looks so good! nice job!

  11. Jules Says:

    Mmmm. Love the cherries. Almost as much as the strawberries.

  12. Jayne Says:

    Mmmm, cherries. Great job!

  13. Heather B Says:

    Yum! The Cherries sound delish on this tart! Great job!

  14. Di Says:

    I love how this recipe works with so many variations. I agree, the jam really makes the tart.

  15. Dolores Says:

    Cherries… what a great idea. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the fresh fruit more, but glad the jam covered tart shell was tasty. Great job!

  16. Shirlie Says:

    What a good idea to use cherries! You gotta love an easy TWD recipe! Great job.

  17. Linda Says:

    Love the cherries…great job!!

  18. Susan at Sticky,Gooey,Creamy,Chewy Says:

    Love the your take on the tart! It looks really beautiful! Well done! I used cherries too and I loved them in this.

  19. Shari Says:

    Cherries sound delicious as a substitution!
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

  20. Ulrike aka ostwestwind Says:

    Your tart looks beautiful!
    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  21. Lisa Says:

    Mmmm…cherries!!!! This looks great – I think I’d like the jam/tart part best, though, too! It seems like it would be really yumy for breakfast!

  22. Jaime Says:

    you don’t like fresh fruit? awww

    love the cherry tart!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

