Tuesdays with Dorie – Mixed Berry Cobbler

TWD

Tuesdays with Dorie time again. This week’s recipe of Mixed Berry Cobbler was chosen by Beth of Our Sweet Life.

Cobbler

This cobbler recipe was very simple. Just berries (fresh or frozen. Dorie says it doesn’t matter.) on the bottom and a biscuit topping. I used a mixture of frozen blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries since I always have those in the freezer. Even though I added a fair amount of sugar, it was still way too tart for me.

The biscuit topping came together very quickly and was a breeze to roll out. The problem was that it was bland. The only flavor mine had was saltiness. Bleh. You’d think I would’ve learned to read the TWD blog for suggestions before I start a recipe, but I guess I’m just hardheaded. Some of the other TWDer’s added cinnamon or extra sugar to their biscuit topping and said it came out fabulous so I would definitely suggest doing that.

All in all, this was a pretty good recipe. It was very easy to put together and neither the husband or the kid had any complaints. I really can’t ask for more than that.

Cobber

For the recipe, head over to Our Sweet Life and if you want to see what other TWDer’s thought, check out the blogroll.

Tags:

17 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Mixed Berry Cobbler”

  1. Caitlin Says:

    I’m sorry you weren’t a big fan of the topping, but at least the rest of the family enjoyed it!

  2. Sarah Says:

    I added cinnamon sugar to the topping and it was great…this is such a simple recipe…try it again! :)

  3. Ulrike aka ostwestwind Says:

    Glad your family liked it, although you were not convinced, as a cobbler newbie I was pleased, perhaps lack of experience?

    Ulrike from K├╝chenlatein

  4. Kelly D Says:

    Too bad it wasn’t your favorite. Maybe next week will be better.

  5. kim Says:

    it looks yummy, sorry you didn’t like it :( i recommend extra sugar (or turbinado sugar like i used).

  6. lobsterandfishsticks Says:

    Yours looks yummy! Thanks for the warning about the crust ;)

  7. Natashya Says:

    I like the juices running down the ice cream, very pretty.

  8. Mara Says:

    awww sorry you guys didn’t love it..i read the P&Q before and was like uh oh, so i jazzed mine up a bit…we LOVED it. definitely try it again soon!

  9. pamela Says:

    Beautiful pictures! It looks delicious.

  10. Anne Says:

    Your cobbler looks juicy and delicious! At least your boys liked it (that always means a winner at my house!).

  11. Jessica Says:

    Oh well…better luck next time with the crust – your cobbler looks wonderful anyway!

  12. Heather B Says:

    Maybe next week will be better! Your cobbler still looks tasty!

  13. Susan at StickyGooeyCreamyChewy Says:

    Your cobbler looks just delicious! Sorry you didn’t care for the crust. I added some cinnamon and cardamom to mine and I really liked it. We live and learn. :)

  14. Shari@Whisk: a food blog Says:

    Looks delicious!

  15. Christine Says:

    I wasn’t a big fan of the topping either. But your cobbler looks delicious!

  16. Barbara Says:

    It sure looks delicious! Glad your family liked it even if you weren’t completely happy with it. I do think Dorie’s recipe is on the “plain” or “basic” side for a cobbler. I’ve seen recipes with a lot more sugar in both filling and topping and many have some sort of flavoring in the topping as well. I was happy with the sugar level, but then I am very definitely on the “less sweet” side of things!

  17. Dolores Says:

    Hmmm… salty? That’s odd. Glad your family enjoyed it, and that you’ve found ideas for improving it if you try again. Looking forward to your apple cheddar scones. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

