Crunchy Thai Noodle Salad

It’s gotten far too easy for me to fall into a lunch rut. The kid eats pretty much the same thing everyday: a slice of ham or turkey, green beans, peas, carrots, or a combination of the 3, and a piece of fruit. Me? I usually skip lunch because I never know what to eat. So my new goal is to make a couple lunches each week. Actual meals, not PB&J.

Thai salad

My first attempt was this oh-so-pretty Crunchy Thai Noodle Salad. It was colorful and fun and I’m sure most people would really like it. One of the main ingredients of the dressing is sesame oil and I always seem to forget that I hate sesame oil. I love the smell of it, but I hate the taste. Weird, right? I think I’m going to play around with it and see if I can find a good substitution that’s not so over-powering.

That being said, the husband shocked me by eating 2 huge bowls of it. Normally he turns his nose up at anything that doesn’t have a large piece of meat sticking out of it. Even the kid ate a bowl of it.

Crunchy Thai Noodle Salad
from: Vegetarian Classics

For the dressing:

3 tablespoons sesame oil
3 tablespoons canola oil
1/4 cup tamari soy sauce
3 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons tomato paste
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 teaspoon salt

For the salad:

1 pound spaghetti or linguine
2 cups mung bean sprouts
1 cucumber, peeled, seeded, and cut into matchsticks
1 carrot, peeled and grated
3 scallions, very thinly sliced
2 tablespoons shredded fresh basil
2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh mint
2 tablespoons finely chopped cilantro
1/4 cup chopped dry roasted peanuts

Cook noodles until al dente. Drain thoroughly and rinse the noodles under cold running water. Place noodles in a very large serving bowl.

In a medium sized bowl whisk together all the ingredients for the dressing. Pour the dressing on the noodles and toss well. Mix in all remaining ingredients except peanuts. Let the noodles sit for at least 30 minutes before serving. Serve with the chopped peanuts sprinkled on top.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Crunchy Thai Noodle Salad”

  1. Megan Says:

    That sounds really good! I find sesame oil really strong, no matter how much or how little you use. But I like the combination of ingredients, and the dressing sounds refreshing. I’ll have to try it!
    (PS, I love pb&j for lunch, too.)

  2. The Lazy Organizer Says:

    It looks good! I would use olive oil and add a dash of sesame oil. I’m with you. Any more than that is too much.

  3. Maya Says:

    We ate a lot of noodles when I was growing up in Malaysia. I still prefer noodles to rice now. Your noodle salad looks wonderful.

  4. Mary Ann Says:

    That looks really good. I love new lunch ideas!

  5. LyB Says:

    I love sesame oil, this looks like a fantastic lunch! I’m in a sandwich kinda rut these days, seems it’s all I can think of for lunch, this salad would make a nice change. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Barbara Says:

    How about roasted peanut oil? It has that nice toasted nutty aroma and you might like the taste better. We have a small bottle, let’s see, it’s made by Loriva and I think we got it at a natural foods store.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

