Daring Bakers – Danish Braid

Well haven’t I been a bad Daring Baker? I’ve sat out the last two challenges but I’m back. June’s challenge was chosen by Kelly of Sass & Veracity and Ben of What’s Cookin’?. The recipe they chose was a danish braid which sounded pretty intimidating at first. After reading through the recipe I realized that it’s a pretty basic pastry dough but then you fold in a butter block, which is just butter and flour. It ended up being really easy and really fun, although all the turning and folding left me a little confused.

Braid
We were given the option of using an apple filling recipe that was provided to us but I decided to go with something a little more exciting. So I bought rhubarb for the first time and decided to get over my fear of the funny looking stuff. I ended up making an amazing strawberry and rhubarb filling but I can’t for the life of me remember exactly how I did it.

Braid
I also softened a block of cream cheese, mixed in some powdered sugar, and spread that out over the dough before I added the filling. It turned out great!

To see the full recipe, head over to Kelly’s blog. And check out the blogroll to see all the different variations the DBs came up with.

12 Responses to “Daring Bakers – Danish Braid”

  1. Sarah Says:

    It looks great…your flavor combo sounds super yummy!

  2. Sathya Says:

    Rhubarb and strawberry would be a lovely combination. I want to try that now. Well done, it looks good.

  3. Susan Says:

    What a TEASE you are! Great filling, no recipe?? Yum – looks TOO good.

  4. Di Says:

    I’ve always been kind of scared of rhubarb. I’m going to have to give it a try one of these days. Nice job on the braid!

  5. Erin Says:

    I did strawberry and creamcheese, but I’m betting that strawberry and rhubarb was even better. Looks yummy!

  6. rainbowbrown Says:

    Rhubarb and cream cheese. Tasty!

  7. Anne Says:

    Wow, looks so good!

  8. breadchick Says:

    excellent job on your challenge!

  9. Dolores Says:

    Strawberry rhubarb sounds sensational. Welcome back, and great job!

  10. Debyi Says:

    I love rhubarb and your braid looks delicious. I also did a rhubarb filling, but I paired mine with orange, which ended up being way too overpowering. I wish I had just used the rhubarb.

  11. Claire Says:

    Looks great! Glad you came back.

  12. Jessica Says:

    Great job!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

