Archive for July 1st, 2008

Tuesdays with Dorie – Apple Cheddar Scones

July 1, 2008

TWD

Can I tell you how excited I was when Karina of The Floured Apron chose Dorie’s Apple Cheddar Scones as this week’s recipe? I’ve been wanting to make these since I got the book and I even bought some dried apple a few weeks ago because I was planning on choosing this one when my turn rolled around. But Karina gave me an excuse to make them sooner. Yay.

Scones

They turned out fabulous. The apple didn’t add much flavor but it added a ton of great texture. The scones didn’t last a day in my house. They were that good. The husband thought they were cornbread but he still liked them.

My one complaint (because I always have one it seems) is that the dough is super sticky. So sticky that I just gave up on shaping it and ended up with a bunch of oddly shaped monster scones.

To see the recipe go visit The Floured Apron. And to see how the rest of the TWDer’s made out, check out the blogroll.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.