Tuesdays with Dorie – Apple Cheddar Scones

TWD

Can I tell you how excited I was when Karina of The Floured Apron chose Dorie’s Apple Cheddar Scones as this week’s recipe? I’ve been wanting to make these since I got the book and I even bought some dried apple a few weeks ago because I was planning on choosing this one when my turn rolled around. But Karina gave me an excuse to make them sooner. Yay.

Scones

They turned out fabulous. The apple didn’t add much flavor but it added a ton of great texture. The scones didn’t last a day in my house. They were that good. The husband thought they were cornbread but he still liked them.

My one complaint (because I always have one it seems) is that the dough is super sticky. So sticky that I just gave up on shaping it and ended up with a bunch of oddly shaped monster scones.

To see the recipe go visit The Floured Apron. And to see how the rest of the TWDer’s made out, check out the blogroll.

Tags:

12 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Apple Cheddar Scones”

  1. Caitlin Says:

    Hehe – monster scones, I can just see them.

  2. Susan Says:

    Aren’t they sweet looking all huddles together in that basket?! Great job!

  3. Laura Says:

    yours scones look lovely and perfect! great job.

  4. pamela Says:

    The dough was super sticky, so I just scooped them out, too. It was the easiest way to go. Nice job!

  5. rainbowbrown Says:

    I think they look great. I’m pretty sure good scones don’t need any identifiable shape. Nice job!

  6. Di Says:

    These were on the short list for my pick, too, but in the end I had to go with chocolate. And I agree, scooping was the way to go for this dough. Your finished scones look great!

  7. Amanda Says:

    Yum!! Yours look great. Mine didn’t last a day either.

  8. Mara Says:

    someone did make 2 monster scones which i thought looked so fun! i just did the ice cream scooper method, after reading how sticky the dough was i wasn’t chancing it! yours look fab. :)

  9. Kristen Says:

    I don’t think scones are supposed to be perfect little circles. Great job.

  10. Dolores Says:

    So glad this one lived up to your expectations, even if it was a bit sticky.

  11. Jules Says:

    They may not be pretty, but they are delicious! I had big craggy hunks of scone. Yum!

  12. mari Says:

    They were sticky indeed, but oh so good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

