Lemonade Iced Tea Sorbet.


My mom was nice enough to buy me an ice cream maker a few weeks ago. I had bought her the same one back at Christmas and she loved it so much that she thought I should have one too. I can’t even tell you how excited I was to get it. I’ve been pulling ice cream recipes out of magazines for months hoping that I would get one eventually.

I came home that night, washed everything out, cranked the freezer up as high as it would go, and hoped that inner piece would freeze quickly. I ended up staying awake most of the night waiting for my first batch of sorbet but it was so worth it. I just wish I would’ve remembered to turn the freezer back down. The container my sorbet went into eventually cracked. Poo.

The Lemonade Iced Tea Sorbet was lovely though. Being from Alabama, I’m a sweet tea kind of girl. No lemon, please. But I really enjoyed this sorbet. It was tart but still sweet. It’s definitely a keeper, even if the husband refused to even try it.

Lemonade Iced Tea Sorbet
from: Cooking Light

2 cups boiling water
4 regular-sized English Breakfast tea bags
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup fresh lemon juice (about 4 lemons)
1 cup ice water

1. Combine 2 cups boiling water and tea bags in a large bowl; steep 5 minutes. Discard tea bags. Add sugar to tea mixture, stirring until sugar dissolves. Cool completely. Stir in juice and 1 cup ice water; chill 1 hour.

2. Pour tea mixture into the freezer can of an ice-cream freezer; freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions. Spoon sorbet into a freezer-safe container. Cover and freeze 1 hour or until firm.

4 Responses to “Lemonade Iced Tea Sorbet.”

  1. Joelen Says:

    I love lemonade and iced tea… I’m sure this tastes great! Thanks for sharing – looks like a great easy recipe :)

  2. brenda Says:

    This looks so appealing to me. I’m a southerner as well and love iced tea. Unfortunately, lifes circumstances has forced me to make mine with Splenda, but it’s still pretty good. The sorbet looks lovely.

  3. madeleinemiranda Says:

    Hey, thats a really good idea! Looks great!

  4. Apron Straightjacket Says:

    This sounds soooo delicious. Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

