Tuesdays with Dorie – Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler.

Guess what ya’ll! It was my turn to choose the Tuesdays with Dorie recipe! I had a lot of trouble deciding on one and finally settled on Dorie’s Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler since I’ve recently become obsessed with rhubarb.

I had these great fantasies of having a gorgeous picture of this cobbler and making everything perfect since it was my week and all. Yeah, didn’t quite work out for me. The cobbler was delicious (even the rhubarb hater that I call husband liked it) but it just didn’t turn out pretty for me.

I adored the topping of this one. The whole wheat flour gave it a totally different texture from the usual cobbler toppings and really enhanced the whole thing. The rhubarb was amazing. The cherries were fabulous. I’m not a fruit person but I loved this cobbler. I even made some rhubarb ice cream to go along with it. (It melted very quickly…)

Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler
Baking:From My Home to Yours

Filling:
1 pound cherries, pitted & halved
12 ounces rhubarb, trimmed, peeled & cut into 1 inch pieces
1/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1 teaspoon ground ginger

Topping:
¾ cup all-purpose flour
¾ cup whole wheat flour
3 tablespoons (packed) brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon ground ginger
3 ounces butter, cut into 18 pieces
½ cup milk

Make the filling:
In a small bowl stir together the sugar, cornflour and ginger until well mixed.
Place the cherries and rhubarb into a large bowl, sprinkle over with the mixed dry ingredients and stir well. While making the topping, stir from time to time.

Make the topping:
Put the flours, sugar, baking powder, salt and ginger into a food processor. Pulse to blend. Sprinkle the butter pieces over the top, then continue to pulse until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
Drizzle in the milk and continue to pulse until it forms moist clumps.
Turn out onto a very lightly floured board.
Cut into 20 pieces and shape each into a ball.

Assemble the dish:
Place the fruit and any juices that have been released into the baking dish. Spread it out evenly. Top with the prepared dough balls.

Bake at 375 for 35-45 minutes or until the topping is golden and fruit bubbling.
Cool the cobbler for at least 20 minutes.

Tags: , ,

46 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler.”

  1. Mary Ann Says:

    Thanks for a great pick! Glad it turned out delicious and that the hubby liked it!

  2. rainbowbrown Says:

    Thank you for a perfect choice. I loved it. And your does look yummy!

  3. cherry rhubarb cobbler (twd) « The Way the Cookie Crumbles Says:

    [...] Amanda will post the recipe on her blog. [...]

  4. Michelle Says:

    Beautiful pictures. Im glad you enjoyed this recipe. The topping is wonderful!

  5. Joelen Says:

    Looks wonderful and perfect for summer!

  6. Danielle Says:

    Great pick! I’m so bummed I didn’t have a second to make this. Though the colors on your cobbler are beautiful! Great job!

  7. Erin Says:

    The rhubarb ice cream sounds insanely good. Beautiful cobbler and fabulous pick.

  8. Sarah Says:

    Glad you liked the recipe you got to choose! Looks great!

  9. Rigby Says:

    This was a wonderful pick for this week! I never paired these two fruits together, but I enjoyed the flavors so much, this may be my new “go to” filling!

  10. Anne Says:

    Your photo looks great! It was tasty, too. Nice choice Amanda!

  11. Lauren Says:

    Rhubarb ice cream, that I must try. How about cherry mix-in? Thanks for the selection.

  12. mari Says:

    I’m bummed that I had to sit this one out due to a sick oven, but I’m looking forward to giving it a go before rhubarb season is over! Great pick!

  13. Carol Peterman Says:

    Thanks for the great pick. I am on a huge rhubarb kick as well and now I see I need to try making rhubarb ice cream. That sounds great and I love the slight pink tint. Your cobler looks mighty fine to me!

  14. Natashya Says:

    Good summer pick. I love the idea of rhubarb ice cream, I’ll have to try that!

  15. Bronte Says:

    Thanks for choosing this recipe this week!
    It gave me a good reason to try out rhubarb for the first time…i loved it!
    Yours turned out greattt!
    thanks again! <3

  16. Teanna Says:

    Thanks for the great pick! Your cobbler looks fantastic!

  17. Susan Says:

    what a fantastic choice!! i would have never made it without you!! (but loved it. yum)

  18. kim Says:

    your cobbler looks delicious!! thanks for picking this one, i’ve never used rhubarb before and it had a great flavor!

  19. Dolores Says:

    Thanks for choosing a great recipe. I think it’s the first one I’ve made where Dorie actually *calls* for whole wheat flour. With that and the fiber from the rhubarb, you might have picked the healthiest recipe she’s published. :)

    And I’m with the others… your cobbler turned out far more photogenic than mine.

  20. pamela Says:

    I loved the whole wheat in the topping, too. Nice choice! Thank you.

  21. April B Says:

    Thanks for this selection, it was my first time using rhubarb and I was pleasantly surprised!

  22. Mara Says:

    go Amanda with your bad rhubarb making ice cream self !! so awesome…your cobbler with the ice cream looks fab.

  23. Holly @ PheMOMenon Says:

    Your cobbler looks lovely! Great job!

  24. Christy Says:

    I think your pics look great!

  25. Heather B Says:

    Great pick! Your cobbler looks fabulous!

  26. steph (whisk/spoon) Says:

    thanks for a good pick–i loved the topping on this one! your rhubarb ice cream is such a pretty pink!

  27. innasinventions Says:

    This looks delicious!

  28. Caitlin Says:

    You call that not pretty? I call that pretty darned tasty looking! Great pick, I love every excuse to use rhubarb!

  29. Di Says:

    Great pick, Amanda! I change the fruit, but stuck with the topping as written. It was really good.

  30. Jessica Says:

    Thanks for choosing such a great recipe! Well done.

  31. Jules Says:

    Yeah! Another rhubarb fanatic! Yeah!

  32. ostwestwind.twoday.net Says:

    Tuesdays with Dorie: Cherry Redcurrant Cobbler…

    This week’s recipe on page 415 from Baking: From my home to yours: Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler has been selected by Amanda from Like Sprinkles on a Cupcake.

    The rhubarb season in Central Europe ends at June, 24th for two reasons:

    The plant gets enough…

  33. Ulrike aka ostwestwind Says:

    I enjoyed the recipe! I am not a rhubarb hater, but there is no rhubarb any more so I substituted it with redcurrants. I should have thought of apples. Thanks for picking this recipe!

  34. nickki Says:

    I think it looks lovely! Thank you for picking this even though I wasn’t crazy about the end result of mine. I just think I picked the wrong fruit (nectarines.) I’m sure if I used rhubarb I would’ve liked it a whole lot better. I am going to try this again! :)

  35. CB Says:

    Rhubarb ice cream! How fun! Thanks for hosting this week!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  36. mari Says:

    I’m sorry I had to sit this one out, because this is a dessert right up my alley!

  37. Jessica Says:

    Thanks for picking something to challenge our tastebuds! Nice job on yours.

  38. Kait Says:

    Thanks for this selection! I love rhubarb and cherries, but I’ve never had them together before. It was great to try.

  39. Kelly D Says:

    I think yours looks fabulous – about as good as a cobbler is going to look. Thanks for forcing me to use rhubarb. I was had been curious for awhile

  40. Isa Says:

    The pictures look great to me! I’m happy it turned out for you and kind of sad I wasn’t able to make it (no rhubarb or fresh cherries currently where I live). And the rhubarb ice cream looks delicious :)

  41. Barbara Says:

    Thanks for a great pick! I had hoped to use rhubarb but couldn’t find it. Cherries and raspberries turned out just fine. I loved the ginger flavor and the part-whole-wheat topping.

  42. Shari@Whisk: a food blog Says:

    Thanks for the pick this week! It was nice to do another easy dessert in the busy summer weeks. Homemade ice cream would be perfect with this! Great job!
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

  43. Aaliyah Says:

    Thank you for choosing such a great recipe :o)! Your cobbler looks very wonderful. I like how your pictures turned out. The humidty here for me kept the whip creme at bay lol.

    I look forward to your post next week!

  44. Jaime Says:

    your cobbler looks great! and rhubarb ice cream? i’d love to try that! thanks for challenging me to finally try some rhubarb :) i agree that the biscuit topping for this was great!

  45. Lena Says:

    At what oven temperature is this cobbler supposed to be baked? Thanks.

  46. amanda Says:

    Lena, oops. I guess that’s what I get for copying and pasting the recipe.

    The cobbler needs to be baked at 375.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

