Tuesdays with Dorie – Summer Fruit Galette

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, Summer Fruit Galette, was chosen by Michelle in Colorado Springs. This was a great choice for me as it challenged me to try something I’d never made before and also have me the opportunity to get over the… fuzziness of certain fruits. *shudder*

The idea of this galette is layering sliced fruit over some marmalade (or plum jelly in my case) and then covering it all with a custard. Very simple and very elegant looking.

My original plan was to go with plums since it’s one of the only stone fruits I’ll touch but for some reason I was feeling a little wild while grocery shopping and picked peaches instead. I must admit, they’re much less intimidating when you boil and peel the skin off.

Overall this was a good dessert. I think it definitely would’ve been better with plums, but the peaches weren’t awful. I’m not sure I’ll make the galette again but I will say that I almost cried when the kid dropped half of it on the floor.

Michelle has the full recipe on her blog and make sure you check out the blogroll.

18 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Summer Fruit Galette”

  1. Mary Ann Says:

    Your peach slices look so pretty! It really does look delicious, although I think plums would be great too!

  2. Amy (Sing for your supper) Says:

    Its beautiful! Now I’m really wishing I had a slice of that galette right about now!!

  3. Joelen Says:

    What a beautiful galette! For the longest time I preferred nectarines over the fuzzy peaches… but I’ve been converted :)

  4. Kelly D Says:

    I am impressed you went with the peaches, shudder factor and all. Looks great.

  5. Teanna Says:

    Hahah fuzzy fruits! Thanks for the great choice! Yours came out perfectly!

  6. Caitlin Says:

    Yours is so very neat! And plum jelly – really? I’m intrigued!

  7. Susan Says:

    You are just trying to make me look bad with your perfect little galette. shame on you. :)

  8. Christine Says:

    Your galette looks beautiful. You definitely were able to fill it up with custard (mine leaked all over the place)! Sorry it wasn’t one of your favorites.

  9. foodlibrarian Says:

    this is so perfectly formed! it looks beautiful and so yummy.

  10. Tammy Says:

    Your galette looks lovely. I agree that plums would be very yummy!

  11. pamela Says:

    The peaches look great in the galette, and I’m not a peach fan. How sad that you lost 1/2 of it to the floor. :o(

  12. Laura Says:

    wow you made that galette look gourmet and far from rustic. beautiful!

  13. CB Says:

    They dropped it?? I would be bawling! Glad you got a picture before. The peaches look so good. Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  14. Esther Says:

    Oh you poor thing they dropped it! Well it looked lovely before!

  15. Fit Chick Says:

    Your galette looks great and I love the pattern from the peaches! I used nectarines and thought it was OK; will try peaches next time.

  16. Nancy/n.o.e Says:

    When I was growing up, I NEVER ate a fresh peach because of the Fuzz Factor. We did have canned, however, which was fine by me. I love peaches now, which is great since I live in Georgia, home of amazing peaches. I still won’t bite into one with the skin on it, however!

    Your galette is stunning!

  17. Jules Says:

    That looks gorgeous! 1/2 of it on the floor??? Did you use the five second rule?

  18. Barbara Says:

    I always peel peaches. Under the fuzzy skin they are so delicious!

    I love the design of your galette, with the spiral in the center and the nicely shaped edges. Yum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

