Roasted Turnips and Potatoes.


Growing up the only thing I knew about turnips was that I had a coach named Coach Turnipseed. I didn’t even know that turnips were edible. Down here you see a lot of turnip greens, but no one ever mentions the poor little turnips. Once I moved out on my own I started playing around with them because I think they’re fun looking and this is probably my favorite way to cook them.They blend in well with the potatoes and if I don’t tell my husband about them, he doesn’t even notice.

Roasted Turnips and Potatoes

2 medium sized turnips
2 pounds of red potatoes
3 tablespoons olive oil
3/4 teaspoon dried rosemary
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Preheat oven to 450.

Peel turnips. Cut turnips and potatoes into 1 inch pieces. Toss with olive oil, rosemary, salt, and pepper. Transfer to a large baking sheet making sure they aren’t on top of each other.

Roast for about 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. Serve hot.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Roasted Turnips and Potatoes.”

  1. Joelen Says:

    I haven’t worked with turnips much but you’ve definitely given me a reason to – this looks delicious!

  2. Recent Links Tagged With "blend" - JabberTags Says:

    […] public links >> blend Roasted Turnips and Potatoes. Saved by Thetakingsissue on Sat 11-10-2008 Beyond Merlot: Ted the Mule Syrah Grenache Blend Saved […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

