Tuesdays with Dorie – Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream


It’s time for Tuesdays with Dorie time again!

This week Dolores of Chronicles of Culinary Curiosity chose Dorie‘s blueberry sour cream ice cream. I got my ice cream maker back in June and ever since then I’ve been hoping that someone would choose this recipe. It sounded amazing.

It ended up being the prettiest ice cream I’ve ever seen. Just look at that color! You can’t buy ice cream that looks like that. The taste, however, was a little disappointing. The sour cream was too much. It overpowered the blueberries and that’s not cool. My husband described it as weird but he ate it anyway, so I guess it wasn’t all that bad.

If you’d like the recipe, check out Chronicles of Culinary Curiosity and be sure you visit the blogroll.

9 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream”

  1. CB Says:

    My hubs was the same way. He ate it but he wasn’t a fan of the sour cream aftertaste. Ah well… there’s always next week right?
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  2. Caitlin Says:

    It could have been weird in a good way, right? Maybe some more blueberries cooked with sugar on top would pump up that blueberry flavor enough for you.

  3. joelen Says:

    Many folks have commented the sour cream was too overpowering in this – so you’re not alone! The color is beautiful and it reminds me of puple yam ice cream, aka “ube” ice cream… which is very delicious!

  4. pamela Says:

    Sorry it was disappointing. I must say that the ice cream in that yellow bowl is striking, though!

  5. Hannah Says:

    Lovely color!

  6. Jules Says:

    I totally agree that there was too much sour cream. Oh well.

  7. Sharon - Butcher, Baker...... Says:

    Try replacing some of the sour cream with blueberry yogurt – yum!

  8. Dolores Says:

    I’m sorry you were disappointed by the taste. Perhaps try yogurt or creme fraiche? Just a thought…

  9. nickki Says:

    Love the yellow bowl! It looks great with the ice cream. Sorry it wasn’t a hit with you…I like Sharon’s idea of substiuting the sour cream with blueberry yoghurt, I might try that myself sometime.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

