Tuesdays with Dorie – Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe was chosen by Clara. She chose Dorie’s Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes.


We aren’t chocolate fans around here and my dad, who is the usual recipient of my chocolate goodies, was out of town this past week. So I attempted to halve the recipe. Apparently, halving one egg and one egg yolk is more difficult than I expected. As you can tell from the picture, they came out a very strange texture.


Then when I went to make the glaze I realized we were out of butter. Did I drive to the store to get butter? Or maybe make another kind of frosting? Nope. I used margarine. MARGARINE! Now in that picture you can tell just how oily my glaze was.

Needless to say, I threw all 6 of these away. Very sad day. I plan on making these again soon because I do want to try them. It’s always nice to have a good chocolate cupcake recipe.

ThankĀ  you to Clara for hosting and you can get the recipe over there.

10 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes”

  1. mybakingaddiction Says:

    Oh no! I hate when I run out of things! I bet they were still tasty though!

  2. CB Says:

    aawww bummer you weren’t a fan but I hope you get the chance to try the full recipe with butter soon. Thanks for baking with me this week!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  3. Caitlin Says:

    Huh, that’s too weird about the texture. And I’ve never had a problem using margarine instead of butter, although I can see how they could be a bit oily that way – maybe chilling them would help with that?

  4. kim Says:

    ohh, sad :( sorry you had to throw them out! i hope you get to try them again, i thought they were tasty.

  5. Tammy Says:

    You dont like chocolate!!?? Cute cupcake cases

  6. Barbara Says:

    Oh, too bad! I didn’t make the glaze, but the cupcakes turned out very nice — do try them again.

  7. Teanna Says:

    I am sorry it didn’t work out! I almost omitted eggs from a cheesecake because I didn’t feel like going to the store! Haha! Sometimes, you just don’t feel like it!

  8. Tamy ~ 3 Sides of Crazy Says:

    So sorry they had to be tossed :(

  9. Jayne Says:

    So sorry about the margarine problem! But definitely make these again – they’re pretty yummy.

  10. Beth Says:

    Awww how sad! I hope you do try them again! I’m a fellow TWD baker, and I was thinking that it would be nice if we all could chip in and get Laurie some small token/gift for all the work she does. Would you be willing to contribute? If I can get enough people, it would only be about $1 per person. No pressure :-) Let me know! bethberg12@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

