Tuesdays with Dorie – Arborio Rice Pudding, White, Black (Or Both)

This week’s TWD recipe was chose by Isabelle of Les gourmandises d’Isa. She chosen Dorie’s arborio rice pudding which was a nice change of pace.

When I used to diet, I’d buy the little 90 calorie containers of rice pudding so now whenever I see rice pudding I remember those horrible days. Needless to say, I had originally planned on skipping this week but Pam posted her pictures last night and 5 minutes after seeing them and hearing about how much her family loved it, I was in the kitchen.

I ended up cooking the rice pudding for well over an hour (and ruined my favorite pan in the process). It turned out well. Most of the milk had cooked off for me and it continued to thicken after I put it in the fridge.

I think it’s safe to say that my little boy loved it. The vanilla is gone thanks to him and I’m sure he’ll tackle the chocolate tomorrow. My husband refused to even try it saying “It’s not really a dessert if it has rice in it!” but that’s okay. More for me and the little one.

For the recipe, visit Isabelle and make sure you check out the blogroll to see what everyone else did.

7 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Arborio Rice Pudding, White, Black (Or Both)”

  1. pinkstripes Says:

    I’m sorry you ruined your pan, but the outcome was wonderful. I’m glad you made it, esp because you were hesitant at first.

  2. Linda Says:

    this is definitely heads and shoulders above those pudding cups. love that you served the pudding in holiday mugs…love this time of year!!! :)

  3. food librarian Says:

    Yummy! Both look very delicious and I’m glad you were able to make it!

  4. lobsterandfishsticks Says:

    Sorry I made you cook pudding so late into the evening ; 0 )
    Glad the LO and you liked it!
    I LOVE your Chirstmasey dishes, BTW!

  5. Teanna Says:

    More for you and the little one is the way think! It looks great!

  6. Shari Says:

    Great job making both!

  7. I broke it! « Amanda’s Eats Says:

    […] morning I go to get coffee with my FAVORITE one. It’s the Christmas tree one I used in my rice pudding post. Well I went to put it on the counter and… missed. Shattered into a million […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

