Tuesdays with Dorie – Linzer Sables

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe comes from Noskos of Living the Life.

I was going to sit this one out. Mainly because that’s just what I always tell myself these days, even if I wind up doing it in the end. My other reason for sitting out was that it called for ground nuts, and that would require me to clean the coffee grinder. THEN, a few hours ago I came up with the idea of using ground flax seeds because I always have some on hand.

It worked and the cookies are yummy. Plus they were so simple. The dough came together within minutes and although Dorie says to chill it for 2 hours, I was impatient and only waited 15 minutes. I had no problems whatsoever. I obviously chose to do the sandwich version. My mom just gave me some homemade strawberry jam on Sunday and she’ll be happy to know it was put to good use.

Overall, very good cookies but I doubt I make them again. I’m not big on spiced cookies but my little man loves them! Then again, he’s never been one to turn down a cookie.

To get the recipe, visit Living the Life.

9 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Linzer Sables”

  1. Mary Ann Says:

    Oh, what a great idea- flaxseed meal- I bet they tasted good~

  2. Caitlin Says:

    Flax seeds? Too neat – what an interesting substitution! Your cookies are adorable, and at least you squeezed them in even though you weren’t a huge fan.

  3. pinkstripes Says:

    Great idea to use flaxseed meal. I’m glad you ended up making them and liking them.

  4. Megan Says:

    Hmm, I have my suspicions about why you might be sitting out – but I’ll wait to see if you spill the proverbial beans.

    These were good – although I didn’t exactly follow the recipe!

  5. joelen Says:

    Beautiful job! These would make perfect holiday cookies to share!

  6. HappyTummy Says:

    Gasp–flaxseeds! Brilliant! So did you substitute the same amount of flaxseeds as the amount of ground nuts the recipe called for? Wow…I’m so going to have to try it your way. They look beautiful too!

  7. Jacque Says:

    Oooh, those sound healthy too. Good job getting them done :)

  8. amanda Says:

    HappyTummy: Yes, I used the same amount. Although at the very end, I had to add a tiny bit (maybe 1/4 teaspoon) of water to get all the crumbs to come together. Don’t know if the flax seeds had anything to do with that though.

    Thanks for all the comments everyone! :)

  9. HoneyB Says:

    How creative to think of using flax!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

