Tuesdays with Dorie – Buttery Jam Cookies


I have to apologize, ya’ll. I haven’t felt up to posting the past couple weeks. The thought of having to write about food has made me absolutely ill. I’ve had no problem baking, and even made Dorie’s sugar cookies last week but couldn’t bring myself to write about them. Forgive me?

This week’s TWD recipe is hosted by Heather of Randomosity and the Girl. She chose Dorie’s Buttery Jam Cookies which is a recipe I’ve never noticed despite flipping through Dorie’s book a couple times a week. That’s the best part of TWD… I try recipes that I would never have looked twice at.

Anyway, this was a very simple recipe that incorporated jam into the dough. It called for 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger but I had to cut that in half. I can’t stand ginger and even 1/4 teaspoon was too much for me. I used strawberry jam and I think it was perfect for the cookie. The cookies turned out very soft. I saw some TWD’ers referring to them as biscuit-like and I think that describes them better than cookie. My only problem with these cookies is that they seem to get sweeter as the days go by. Or maybe I’m just weird..

To get the recipe, visit Heather and make sure you check out the blogroll.

2 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Buttery Jam Cookies”

  1. joelen Says:

    Interesting that this gets sweeter as it ‘ages’! What a neat way to use jam but I think I prefer the traditional jam prints. Also I don’t know how I feel about the biscuit texture…. Nonetheless looks wonderful and glad you gave it a try! :)

  2. Caitlin Says:

    Simple is just the right type of thing to get you back into blogging, right? I thought they got sweeter, or maybe you could just taste the ginger and jam more as they got older? Who knows.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

