Oatmeal Date Cookies

80

I’m obsessed with dates lately. I’ve always liked them but my Fresh Market just started selling them in the bulk bins so I can get them super cheap now. So today I wanted to make oatmeal cookies but didn’t want to use the usual raisins. I went on a search for a fun recipe and found something with dates! So excited.

The original recipe called for chocolate but I was worried that would be way too sweet for me so I went ahead and left it out. Let me tell you, they don’t need the chocolate. Oh, and I was very excited because the recipe only calls for brown sugar and you know what that means! Soft cookies!

Oatmeal Date Cookies
adapted from Cooking Light

6  tablespoons  unsalted butter
3/4  cup  packed light brown sugar
1/3  cup  all-purpose flour
1/3  cup  whole-wheat flour
3/4  teaspoon  baking soda
1 1/2  cups  regular oats
1/2  teaspoon  salt
1  lightly beaten egg
1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
1  cup  chopped pitted dates

Preheat oven to 350º. Melt butter in a small saucepan over low heat. Remove from heat and add brown sugar. Stir until smooth. In a medium bowl, combine all-purpose flour, whole-wheat flour, baking soda, oats, and salt. Combine the butter mixture with the dry ingredients, and add egg, vanilla, and chopped dates.  Spoon mixture by tablespoon-fulls out onto lightly greased (or silicone baking mat–covered) baking sheets. Bake for 12 minutes, until tops are dry to the touch.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Oatmeal Date Cookies”

  1. Back on schedule tomorrow « Amanda’s Eats Says:

    […] bake a batch of cookies because I’ve been wanting oatmeal cookies lately. I ended up doing oatmeal date cookies. Landon and I shared one as soon as they came out of the […]

  2. pinkstripes Says:

    Those cookies look and sound so good. I love dates. Have you had a date milkshake yet?

  3. Joelen Says:

    I don’t cook/bake much with dates – aside from wrapping them with bacon! This cookie recipe looks great and I just may have to pick up some dates to work with them more!

  4. Kelly Says:

    These look good! One huge batch of these along with the biggest bottle of whiskey you can find and you should be all set for today’s inauguration! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

