Black Bean & Pumpkin Chili

100

This is by far my favorite chili recipe ever. It’s filled with a ton of beans, which is what I expect out of a chili. Plus it’s got pumpkin! You should know by now that I love pumpkin more than just about anything. You can’t really taste the pumpkin in it (Spencer can’t tell and I don’t tell him) but just knowing it’s there makes me feel healthier.

My original plan was to do this without meat (normally I do chicken or turkey) but Spencer said he’d prefer at least a little meat. I had about 1/2 pound of ground beef in the freezer so I browned it up to throw in the chili. It was just enough meat to know it’s there, but not so much that’s it’s the only thing you see/taste.

Black Bean & Pumpkin Chili
adapted from Taste of Home

1 medium onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 pound ground beef
2 tablespoons olive oil
3 cups chicken broth
2 cans (15 ounces each) black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can (15 ounces) solid-pack pumpkin
1 can (14-1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes, undrained
2 teaspoons dried parsley flakes
2 teaspoons chili powder
1-1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
1-1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt

In a large skillet, cook ground beef, onion, and garlic in olive oil. Drain off fat and transfer mixture to crockpot. Stir in remaining ingredients. Cook on low 4 to 5 hours.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Black Bean & Pumpkin Chili”

  1. Update to now. « Amanda’s Eats Says:

    […] to now. Jump to Comments Last night I did black bean and pumpkin chili. Spencer and Landon had macaroni noodles with theirs which I think is so strange but they like it. […]

  2. joelen Says:

    What a fabulous combo! I’ve seen it in a few places and this soup sounds wonderful!

  3. Munchkin Jelly Bean Reversible Sling - Cappuccino Sky | Baby Backpacks Blog Says:

    […] Black Bean & Pumpkin Chili « Like Sprinkles upon a Cupcake… […]

  4. Valerie Says:

    I need to take a chili to a party tomorrow and plan on trying this. It looks and sounds great. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

