Peanut Butter Hummus

168

I have a really bad habit of seeing something in the grocery store that I want and then forgetting where I see it. Like tahini for example. I know I saw it at my Winn Dixie a few months ago but it was close to $10 and I just couldn’t fit it into my budget that week. So the next week I marched (drove) back to WD only to forget where it was. I’ve searched that store almost every week since then and I still haven’t found it. Seriously, what the hell? My BFF recently told me that the WD by her house got rid of their “ethnic foods” section so maybe that’s what happened.

But anyway, I go through a lot of hummus. Hummus requires tahini. Amanda ain’t got no tahini.

Alton Brown to the rescue! I saw this peanut butter hummus (or turbo hummus as Alton calls is) on a blog forever ago and kind of forgot about it until this morning. I happened to have everything so hey, hummus time.

It’s surprisingly good. Weird but at the same time, I want more. I was like that with regular hummus when I first tried it so maybe it just takes some getting used to. I will cut back on the garlic next time. WAY too much. I also hope to get a food processor so I won’t have to do it in batches in my mini chopper next time. ;)

Turbo Hummus
from Food Network (wordpress dies every time I try to do a link)

2 to 3 cloves garlic
1 can garbanzo beans, drained and liquid reserved
2 to 3 tablespoons smooth peanut butter
A handful fresh parsley leaves
1 lemon, zested and juiced
Pinch freshly ground black pepper
Pinch kosher salt
1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Chop the garlic finely in a food processor. Add the beans and 1/2 of the reserved liquid and process finely or to desired consistency. Add the peanut butter, parsley, lemon zest and juice, black pepper, and salt. Process until it forms a paste. Drizzle in the olive oil and process until it reaches the consistency of mayonnaise.

4 Responses to “Peanut Butter Hummus”

  1. Joelen Says:

    What a great variation to the recipe. I wouldn’t have thought to use peanut butter!

  2. Pam Says:

    you know, I can totally see using PB instead – the tahinni is about the consistency of PB, just not as sweet. I wish I would have tried this before paying 6.00 for a jar so big I’ll never be able to use it all!

  3. zerrin Says:

    I love hummus! That’s one of our traditional dish in Turkey. I added a recipe of it in my blog a few days ago. And I love it with sumac on the top.

  4. rocksta9 Says:

    YUM!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

