Tuesdays with Dorie – Black and White Banana Loaf

This week’s Tuesday with Dorie recipe, Black and White Banana Loaf, was chosen by Ashlee of A Year in the Kitchen. Make sure you check out Ashlee’s blog! It’s one of my favorites.

My husband LOVES banana bread. Like way more than he should. When we first got married (and I didn’t cook) my mom would make a loaf of banana bread a couple times a month for him. He would smother it with homemade strawberry jam (also from my mom) and eat the whole loaf within hours. I’m telling you, he loves banana bread too much. I knew he would be excited to hear that the Black and White Banana Loaf was finally chosen.

I’m still not sure how I felt about the loaf. The banana part was good but I don’t think I liked the chocolate. Maybe next time I should just use food colors to make part of the batter brown? 😉

This banana loaf was quick, easy, and was a great way to use up over ripe bananas. The one problem that I had while baking was that the outside got pretty hard before the inside was completely done. It softened up by the next day but I wish it wouldn’t have done that in the first place.

If you want the recipe visit A Year in the Kitchen and then make sure you take a peek at the blogroll to see what everyone else did.

18 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Black and White Banana Loaf”

  1. Bumblebutton Says:

    Hmmm. Hope your husband enjoyed it!

  2. CB Says:

    Food coloring! cheater! LOL. Glad you hubbie liked it! Did he say which recipe he liked better? I know its hard to beat moms huh?
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  3. Melissa Says:

    Yours looks great. Good idea about the food coloring!

  4. Esther Says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t really like it!

  5. joelen Says:

    Looks beautiful! Some others also commented on the chocolate flavor of this bread… so you’re not alone. 🙂

  6. Mary Ann Says:

    Looks great! Your marbling is really pretty. At least your husband loved it so it didn’t go to waste!

  7. Rigby Says:

    Your banana bread looks delicious! About the chocolate part….I wonder what it would taste like if molasses was used instead of chocolate?

  8. nickki Says:

    Your loaf looks so good! My top was quite crusty as well, it seemed to be a common problem 🙂

  9. Tammy Says:

    wow, perfect marbling!!

  10. Caitlin Says:

    Quick and easy is always good. Maybe it’ll grow on you?

  11. pamela Says:

    Hope your husband enjoyed the bread. The marbling looks pretty.

  12. Susan Says:

    well, what did mr. banana bread think? you forgot to tell us.
    😦 it looks good though!

  13. AnneStrawberry Says:

    I agree… I wasn’t sure about the flavor but it did turn out beautiful. Nice job marbling!

  14. Rebecca Says:

    This wasn’t one of my favorites, but my husband liked the chocolate parts. So weird. 😉 Bring on the ice cream!

  15. Teanna Says:

    The marbling looks great! Sorry you weren’t crazy about it! It really does look delicious!

  16. Teanna Says:

    I’m sorry you weren’t crazy about it, but it really looks gorgeous!

  17. Natalie Says:

    I think I’m going to get some mini loaf pans and try one just plain, one just chocolate, and one mixed. Yours looks fantastic, how did your husband like it?

  18. mari Says:

    Next time I make my stand-by banana bread recipe, then I’ll just throw some chocolate chips in there and call it good.

Leave a Reply

