Tuesdays with Dorie – Random.

Well it’s Tuesday and I should be posting madeleines which is the recipe chosen by Tara of Smells Like Home but let me tell you about my only experience with madeleines. I was pregnant, in the first trimester. Oh yes, the morning sickness trimester. That didn’t end well.

Luckily Laurie, our fabulous founder, gave us the option of going back and completing a recipe that we may have missed or one that the group did before we joined. So that’s what I did. And then I got bored and did another. But wait. I got bored again and did a third Dorie recipe for the week.

The first was Quintuple Chocolate Brownies which was the second recipe the group did. It was originally chosen by Chelle of Sugar & Spice way back in January. These brownies were fabulous. The husband says that they are the best brownies in the world even though I didn’t have any nuts to put in them. They were a little time consuming but most of that was chill time. Well worth the wait though. For the recipe, hop over to Chelle’s blog.

My second recipe was Brown Sugar Shortbread which I assume was chosen by Laurie since it was the very first recipe. These little cookies spread like crazy! Whenever I’ve made shortbread before it’s stayed where I put it, but these came out huge. Very tasty though. A little chewy from the brown sugar but they still “melt” like regular shortbread. I didn’t see the recipe on Laurie’s site but Chelle has this one too.

My last one for the week was Orange Berry Muffins. It was once again chosen by Chelle. Girl’s got good taste, right? The muffins are pretty amazing. I didn’t expect much from them but the orange really makes them perfect. I made them just a few hours ago and the husband and kid have already gone through half of them!

I’ll be back on schedule next week. Hopefully.

To see the rest of the TWD posts, check out the blogroll.

Tags: , ,

11 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Random.”

  1. andreanna Says:

    I am like that with lachs now. It was christmas eve and we were having lach appetizers and let’s just say I found out I was pregnant that night since I spent the whole evening in the bathroom

  2. Caitlin Says:

    Wow, what an overachiever 🙂 All three look delicious!

  3. Garrett Says:

    The orange berry muffins look delicious! And I’ve always wanted to try to make some shortbread from scratch.

  4. CB Says:

    ooohhh morning sickness. not good. But dang you went above and beyond baking up 3 past favs! Great job!
    Clara @ I♥food4thought

  5. Dianne Says:

    Wow you did three! All of them look fabulous! 🙂

  6. Cheryl Says:

    You’ve been busy! They all look good!

  7. LyB Says:

    Well, you’ve been busy! Beautiful, all three recipes! 🙂

  8. Linda Says:

    Wow…you were a baking machine…all three recipes turned out delish looking!

  9. Lisa Says:

    Amanda!!!

    I noticed that I hadn’t seen any posts from you for awhile, so I investigated and realized I forgot to update my reader with your new blog! DUH! Those brownies look super-yummy. Brownies are pretty much the best food ever, but I always make boxed ones (I know, hate me). Maybe I’ll go the extra mile for those though – Quintuple Chocolate!

    Anyway, glad I found you! What happened to your Awkward Homemake blog?

  10. Di Says:

    Mmmm… three Dorie recipes in one week. =) I’ve got to make those brownies one of these days.

  11. Laura Says:

    ha! a girl after my own heart;) I thought I was the only one overdosing on Dorie this week.

Leave a comment